Taylor Ho Bynum

AKAMU representation: european exclusive

See also Anthony Braxton's projects

As a leader:

Taylor Ho Bynum Sextet / Nonette
Taylor Ho Bynum - cornet
Jim Hobbs - alto sax
Bill Lowe - tuba and bass trombone
Mary Halvorson - electric guitar
Ken Filiano - double bass
Tomas Fujiwara - drums
Ingrid Laubrock - tenor sax and soprano sax
Tomeka Reid - cello
Chad Taylor - drums and vibraphone

The Taylor Ho Bynum Sextet has been Bynum's primary working ensemble since 2005, and has toured throughout the USA and Europe.
Navigation (Firehouse 12, 2013) is the group's fourth recording, following the critically acclaimed releases The Middle Picture (Firehouse12, 2007), Asphalt Flowers Forking Paths (hatOLOGY, 2008), and Apparent Distance (Firehouse 12, 2011).

Taylor Ho Bynum's Tabloid
Taylor Ho Bynum - arrangements and cornet
Kyoko Kitamura - vocals and keyboards
Abraham Gomez-Delgado - vocals and percussion
Jim Hobbs - alto sax
Evan Patrick - electric guitar
Nick Lloyd - keyboards
Stomu Takeishi - electric bass
Pheeroan akLaff - drums

Originally assembled to perform Bynum's original arrangements of the music of Prince, in its next incarnation Tabloid will merge those arrangements with Bynum's own compositions in a multi-media performance, drawing upon the poetry of Matthea Harvey, the visual art of Megan Craig, and the choreography of Rachel Bernsen and Melanie Maar.

As a co-leader:

Taylor Ho Bynum - Tomas Fujiwara
Taylor Ho Bynum - cornet
Tomas Fujiwara - drums

The Book of Three
Taylor Ho Bynum - cornet
John Hébert - double bass
Gerald Cleaver - drums and percussion

The Convergence Quartet
Taylor Ho Bynum - cornet
Alexander Hawkins - piano
Dominic Lash - double bass
Harris Eisenstatd - drums

Positive Catastrophe
Taylor Ho Bynum - cornet
Abraham Gomez-Delgado - vocals and percussion
Kamala Sankaram - accordion and vocals
Matt Bauder - tenor sax and clarinets
Michaël Attias - baritone sax
Mark Taylor - french horn
Reut Regev - trombone
Pete Fitzpatrick - guitar
Alvaro Benavides - double bass
Tomas Fujiwara - drums

As a conductor:

Baikida Carroll's "Requiem for the Dark Horse" (for three trumpet soloists and chamber ensemble)
Baikida Carroll - trumpet and composition
Wadada Leo Smith - trumpet
Bobby Bradford - trumpet
Tim Berne - alto sax
Marty Ehrlich - flute, alto flute and clarinet
Eric Friedlander - cello
Marcus Rojas - tuba and trombone
Mary Halvorson - acoustic, electric and classical guitar
Ches Smith - drums and hand percussion
Warren Smith - vibraphone, marimba and glockenspiel
Taylor Ho Bynum - conductor

home | tours | brasil | special projects | links | about