Marty Ehrlich

AKAMU representation: european exclusive

As a leader:

Marty Ehrlich's Sextet
Marty Ehrlich - reeds
Jack Walrath - trumpet
Ray Anderson - trombone
James Weidman - piano
Brad Jones - double bass
Ben Perowsky - drums

Marty Ehrlich's Rites Quartet
Marty Ehrlich - reeds
Ron Horton - trumpet
Michael Formanek - double bass
Michael Sarin - drums

Marty Ehrlich Trio Exaltation
Marty Ehrlich - reeds
John Hébert - double bass
Nasheet Waits - drums

Marty Ehrlich Dark Wood Ensemble
Marty Ehrlich - reeds
Erik Friedlander - cello
Drew Gress - double bass

The Marty Ehrlich Large Ensemble: A Trumpet in the Morning
Marty Ehrlich - conductor
J.D. Parran - narrator, soprano and bass sax
E.J. Allen - trumpet
James Zollar - trumpet
Ron Horton - trumpet
Andy Laster - alto sax
Robert DeBellis - alto and soprano sax, clarinet
Jason Robinson - tenor sax
Adam Kolker - tenor sax, clarinet
Lisa Parrott - baritone sax, bass clarinet
John Clark - french horn
Ray Anderson - trombone
Michael Dessen - trombone
Jerome Harris - guitar, slide guitar
James Weidman - piano
Drew Gress - double bass
Matt Wilson - drums

This is the most ambitious recording I have done to date as a composer. These compositions, written over a twenty-year period, receive wonderful performances from these A-list musicians, many of whom I have worked with for thirty years and more. Each piece approaches the jazz orchestra in different ways. The music on this recording presents the fullest range yet of my creative passions. Marty Ehrlich

A Trumpet in the Morning could be available also with a mix of local musicians + some soloists internationally well known
or a workshop with students (Marty Ehrlich will send the scores in advance).

As a sideman:

New York Composers Orchestra
James Zollar - trumpet
Ron Miles - trumpet
Steven Bernstein or Russ Johnson - trumpet
Briggan Krauss - alto sax
Marty Ehrlich - reeds
Doug Wieselman - reeds
Douglas Yates - alto sax and flute
Andy Laster - baritone sax
Tom Varner or Vincent Chancey - french horn
Curtis Fowlkes - trombone
Art Baron - trombone
Robin Holcomb - piano and conducting
Wayne Horvitz - piano and conducting
Lindsey Horner - double bass
Bobby Previte - drums

Anthony Davis Ensemble
Cynthia Aaronson-Davis - soprano vocal
Mark Feldman - violin
J.D. Parran and/or Marty Ehrlich - reeds
Anthony Davis - piano and compositions
Mark Dresser - double bass
Gerry Hemingway - drums and marimba

Jason Robinson's Janus Ensemble: Tiresian Simmetry
Jason Robinson - tenor sax, alto flute and soprano sax
JD Parran - clarinets, contrabass clarinet, tenor sax and flutes
Marty Ehrlich - alto sax, clarinet and flute
Marcus Rojas - tuba
Bill Lowe - tuba and bass trombone
Liberty Ellman - guitar
Drew Gress - double bass
George Schuller - drums
Ches Smith - drums and glockenspiel

Jason Robinson's Janus Quintet: The Two Faces of Janus
Jason Robinson - tenor sax, alto flute and soprano sax
Marty Ehrlich - alto sax, bass clarinet
Liberty Ellman - guitar
Drew Gress - double bass
George Schuller - drums

home | tours | brasil | special projects | links | about